Oki Dokie

In Japan, the first week of May is called “Golden Week” where there are three consecutive holidays: 1)Constitution Memorial Day – a day to reflect on democracy and the government. 2)Greenery Day – A day to commune with nature and reflect on ones blessings. 3)Childrens Day – a day to respect children’s personalities and celebrate their happiness. This year they were on Tue, Wed and Thur, so a lot of people got a full week of vacation while only taking 2 vacation days from work. This is the busiest travel time in all of Japan, and people go all over the world during this week.

Kyle and I jumped on that bandwagon and went to Okinawa to visit my older sister Kristi who I haven’t seen in 3 years, and it would be the first time for Kyle to meet her and her husband Barry. While we were there, I couldn’t stop thinking to myself, “I can’t believe I’m ACTUALLY IN Okinawa…” Needless to say, it was an AMAZING time!! They are a loving and entertaining couple who you can tell really like being around each other. They were awesome and let us stay at their place the entire week. So, I thought I’d go ahead and tell you a story through pictures:) Here ya go…

First, Let’s start with WHO was in Okinawa:

Leave a Reply

